Beachbody: Scam or Success?

As I sit here writing this blog post, I am sipping on my chocolate vegan Shakeology and am browsing through the hundreds of pictures that cover my newsfeed of friends in New Orleans. While I am at home, spending my Saturday with Beck doing work, my Beachbody family is attending the biggest work conference of the year (Summit) in New Orleans. I was unable to attend this year due to timing of internship, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been able to live vicariously through their Facebook and Instagram posts and Snapchat stories. Missing out on Summit has really made me reflect on why I started Beachbody in the first place and what it has done for me, because honestly it has done so much.

My first introduction to Beachbody occurred in 2012 when Spence and I attempted to do P90X. We lasted 60 days and then gave up. In 2014 I was reintroduced through my friend Kelsie (who is now one of my coaches) when she was getting great results with T25. T25 was the first program I successfully completed, although there were definitely struggles along the way and I didn’t even touch the meal plan. Then, in the fall of 2015 after I was recovering from an ankle injury I was seeking out ways to get back in shape after my hiatus, preferably in a manner that would allow Spence and I to do it together. I looked at a number of different companies, at-home workout programs, YouTube Channels, when I finally reached out to Lily, a girl I had been following on Instagram and who I noticed recently became a Beachbody coach. What drew me to Lily was that she was genuine. You could tell she loved the products and was getting real results. Even though I was the one to reach out it literally took me MONTHS to finally agree to buying a program, Shakeology, and my biggest fear – to start coaching. But Lily was always patient with me, so after doing a ton of research and talking to Spence I decided to give it a try.

Saying I was scared was an understatement. I was scared I would fail at this program (Hammer & Chisel) because I had failed at P90X before. I was scared of the meal plan. I was scared that I wouldn’t like Shakeology (and not to mention I was still totally against the thought of drinking my meal). But most of all I was scared what people would think of me. Multilevel marketing companies (MLMs) have a bad reputation. They are seen as pyramid schemes where only the people at the top make money. People who join them are viewed as pushing products (and there are definitely some people out there that do). They are seen as a scam. They are viewed as a way to make quick money, but not something that can be sustainable. How many of us have that Facebook friend (or five) who jumped into an MLM, only posted about the MLM for a month or so, and then suddenly there was no mention of it in site. I didn’t want to be that person, so my solution? Not post about it. By not posting people didn’t have to know that I joined the “shameful” MLM world. People wouldn’t know if I missed a work out, messed up on the meal plan, or if the products didn’t work. People wouldn’t know I was drinking a meal for lunch instead of eating. And therefore, people couldn’t pass judgment, which was probably the thing I feared most.

But then something happened. I was plugged into a community of some of the most supportive individuals I had ever met. I was getting daily encouragement and accountability for people who were complete strangers. I was forming friendships. Spence and I got to spend time together every single day working out together. We completely changed our eating habits and fueled our body with the proper nutrition. That shake I was worried about? I absolutely fell in love with it and noticed a difference in just one week of drinking it. Oh, and that workout I was so convinced I would fail at? Spence and I completed one entire round without skipping a single workout, and then we completed the entire program again. I was no longer the girl full of fear of failing, doubts, and concerns of judgement because I found that I was in love with the products, the community, and the results; so I started to share.

When I started to share, people became interested. People would reach out and ask questions and I got more confident in reaching out to people too. I suddenly I felt like I had a purpose outside of psychology and being a graduate student, which for so long had consumed me to the point that I wasn’t able to focus on any other areas in my life. A fire was lit in me for helping others on their own health journeys, so I did, but the fear of judgment from others due to being part of an MLM still occupied the back of my mind.

If we think about it, multilevel marketing happens all the time. When we like a restaurant we will tell our friends to go to it. When we have a bad experience at a certain place that provides service, we tell people not to go there. Need I mention the Starbucks Unicorn Drink which brought in millions of dollars from free social media advertising – or should I say multilevel marketing? The difference is, Starbucks didn’t pay anyone to share the snapshot of their Unicorn Drink, people shared because they loved the product (or in some cases found it absolutely disgusting). I share my transformation posts, Shakeology recipes, and workout selfies because I love these products and not only do I love these products, I believe in them. Over time, that belief in and love for the products outweighed any fear I had of judgment (and trust me, there has been some), because if I can help even one person through making a social media post, then I am doing something I love.

Since publicly sharing about my health journey, I have helped so many people start their own journeys – both using Beachbody products and through free groups I run on Facebook – and have built my team up to the highest paid rank in the business. My goal was never to become a “business builder” as we like to call it in the Beachbody world. I signed up as a coach to get a discount on the products and if I could make some extra income on the side that would be great, as being a graduate student doesn’t provide a livable income, but that was never my sole intention. I joined to work on me first, and only me, but the funny thing is, when you work on yourself you grow in so many ways and that growth is contagious.

image2

I joined Beachbody almost 19 months ago. In those 19 months I have (almost) completed 7 different programs, some a couple of times. I have learned how to properly fuel my body with nutritious foods and how much of each food I should be eating. I have lost countless inches, a few pounds (although that was never my intention), gained muscle and strength. My confidence has increased, my mental health is better, I am better able to manage my stress. I have made some of my best friends and found a social support system that is often lacking when people go on their health journeys alone. Spence and I have found something we get to do together every single day, which has made our marriage stronger. And yes, I have been able to make an income.

18 month transformation

Beachbody changes lives; I fully believe that. People have lost over 100 pounds just using the programs and the portion fix nutrition system. People have gone from rock bottom to making full time incomes. Yes, there are so many different health companies out there, there are so many different supplements, and not everyone wants to work out at home, and I understand that. Not everything will be for everyone but I truly believe that Beachbody works because the company offers the whole package – fitness, nutrition, one-on-one support of a FREE coach, and a support system to keep you on track. This isn’t a quick fix or a get rich quick scheme. It is hard work and dedication, but when you realize that your health is one of the most valuable things you have and that you deserve to take care of yourself mind, body, and spirit, the energy and effort you put into doing so is worth it.

When I signed up I told Lily to give me 6 months and then I would probably quit. I rolled my eyes at people who said this company changed their life and I was SO AGAINST the thought of drinking Shakeology. But here I am, almost 19 months later, the healthiest and happiest I have ever been in my adult life which truly wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t said “yes” in the first place.

image1

Leave a comment