22 Minute Hard Corps

Today, after 9 weeks, we completed 22 Minute Hard Corps; a military style workout from Tony Horton, the creator of P90X. All workouts are only 22 minutes + optional 10 minute ab workouts.

Overall Impressions:

Jess: I really enjoyed this program. I absolutely loved that it was only 22 minutes and that we actually got in a good workout in that short amount of time. I was worried since there are only 6 workouts (+ 2 core workouts) that I was going to get bored, but I definitely did not. I do not feel like I was as challenged as I was with Hammer & Chisel, but I loved that there was more cardio and specific ab workouts, both of which were challenging.

Spence: It was great to know that each workout would only take 22 minutes.  The resistance workouts were not as challenging as other programs, but most days we did additional resistance work (either P90X3 or our own routine).  I liked the cardio routines in this program because I normally hate cardio (okay, I still hate cardio), but it was nice to know that I only had to suffer for 22 minutes.  The core workouts were good, but I wish there was more variation instead of just doing more repetitions in one over the other.

Favorite Move/Exercise:

Jess: Punch pulls

Spence: Pumpjumpers

Least Favorite Move/Exercise:

Jess: Mountain Squats…or Gorilla Crawls, both look easy but definitely are not.

Spence: Waterbugs

Favorite Overall Workout:

Jess: Resistance 2!

Spence: Core 1 (it was the shortest and slowest)

Least Favorite Overall Workout:

Jess: Cardio 3. No breaks and spin burpees, really Tony!?

Spence: Cardio 2

Thoughts on Hell Week:

Jess: It definitely deserved its name. 22 minutes a day was relatively easy (although we were challenged); however, doubling that and doing back to back workouts was difficult. I definitely modified every day at least once except for the last day.

Spence: Why? It was very difficult to start each workout with Tony talking about how it was only 22 minutes and knowing that was a lie.  Each workout provided an almost too simple workout by themselves, but more than one back to back…….whew!

Thoughts on the Performance Line:

Jess: Energize (pre-workout) is a life saver for waking up at 4:30 AM. I am so much more alert for my workouts and can tell a huge difference in my performance. It tastes really good too. I also enjoyed the hydrate; I didn’t try the other products.

Spence: Energize was great after I adjusted to the initial tingly sensation.  Hydrate tasted a lot better than plain water, but I didn’t notice significant benefits beyond working out with just water.  The recover and recharge protein blends were both tastier and more effective than other protein powders that I have used in the past.

Where you noticed the most change (physical or otherwise):

Jess: I did not notice as many physical changes with this program, which I honestly not that surprising since I lost many inches with the two rounds of Hammer and Chisel, but I definitely found an increase in my endurance. For example, when first doing gorilla crawls I had to take a break doing 26, but now I am able to do them all at once. I noticed exercises got easier and I did not have to modify as much by the end.

Spence: I noticed that almost all of the exercises became easier by the end of the program, but that was mostly due to knowing the patterns and being able to get ahead while Tony told jokes (and no, I did not want to finish faster to prove anything,  I wanted to get to the 22 second breaks as fast I could).

Spence Results (top – before; bottom – after):

Chest: – 1 1/2 in.
R. Arm: + 3/8 in.
L Arm: +0 in.
Waist: +0 in.
Hips: +0 in.
R. Thigh: +1/4 in.
L Thigh: – 1/4 in.
Net: -1.125 in.

Jess Results (top – before; bottom – after):

Chest: – 1/2 in.
R. Arm: + 0 in.
L Arm: + 1/4 in.
Waist: -1/4 in.
Hips: -1/4 in.
R. Thigh: +3/8 in.
L Thigh: +0 in.
Net: -0.375 in.

Now we are moving on to the 21 Day Fix Extreme, followed by Body Beast. We may not be seeing as many physical changes as we were when we first started, but every day we continue to get stronger and healthier. If you have any more questions about the program or want to try it (it’s on sale this month) ask either one of us and we would be happy to talk with you!

Leave a comment